Northwest Poets’ Concord

20120506-223632.jpg

Today’s tribute to Ralph Salisbury at the Northwest Poets’ Concord was inspiring and emotional. I would have liked to be a student of his. It’s hard to find genuine professors who take time to truly guide their students. Many students and friends of his read poems and shared memories about Ralph. His wife Ingrid Wendt compliments him in so many ways. Ralph closed the tribute by reading a poem and dedicating it to his teachers of the past. Remarkable!

I am here at the Overleaf Lodge in Yachats, Oregon. This weekend has been a memorable one. Another highlight is the smile on Erik Muller’s face after the reading of his poem “Boy’s Eyes”. I read with Nancy Carol Moody, Tim Vollem, and Ann Muller.

I read three poems at the open mic and listened to so many wonderful poets in return. It was good to reconnect with friends I met last year and meet new ones.

This afternoon, I sat by the rocks and let the weekend, the world, the poets, the words and the experience all in.

20120506-223643.jpg